Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Quit my Job? Is this a Dumb Idea?

nicksaiz65

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I had a crazy idea, don’t know if I should go through with it.

I’m currently a junior software engineer, make about 65K a year. I live in a small town(and travel on the weekends for Game) so my living expenses aren’t crazy high. I’ve been working for a bit over a year now. I work remote, and don’t have to be in an office unless I want to. On top of that, my schedule is quite flexible. I work 6 AM - 2:30 PM. So I really can’t complain, work life is good.

However, I saw a new opening for a job that I would be interested in. Music has always been my hobby/passion. It’s unrelated to my field of Computer Science: it’s a symphony orchestra job that pays around $92K a year. And, it’s located in a much bigger city.

I know that even the senior engineers on my team don’t make that much. I had the hare-brained scheme of preparing for that audition. Then assuming I get the job, briefly quit programming and play in the symphony for a year or two with that higher salary. (Although that would stop my goal of working more on the customer/selling side of things.)

All while building my emergency fund and continuing to get certifications and build a programming portfolio. Then, transfer into another Programming job that pays over 100K, mainly to have more freedom to game. Plus, being a symphony musician(this would briefly make me a full time musician) is just a huge flex. And that job would literally be so much fun.

Assuming I got and took the symphony job, There are only three disadvantages I can think of to this plan: