Woman I met at the bar called me "delicate"

roman

Don Juan
Reaction score
Hey fellas,

I'll try to make this story as brief as possible. Please bear with me.

So I went out to a local bar last Saturday night and saw a 9 sitting by herself at a booth (her three friends who were with her had just left the booth to get a drink). So I approach her and she invites me to sit down next to her after I introduce myself. We end up talking about this and that, turns out she goes to my university (I'm an undergrad and she's a grad student there). So she's a bit older than me, no big deal.

Turns out we have a lot to talk about and we end up talking for the next couple hours until closing time at the bar. I get the impression that she more intelligent than most (we have a conversation about books, apparently she reads a lot... and she's working on her PhD in neuroscience). After closing time, she invites me to grab some food with her friends (2 girl friends and 1 guy who's dating one of the girl friends), so I agree and we head over to the restaurant together. On the way over to the restaurant she cracks a joke about her being a cradle robber, which I laugh at. But she also tells me she thinks I'm not like other guys, that I'm delicate and she called me "unobtrusive". I hope what she meant was that I'm not threatening, and I'm guessing she meant it as a compliment. Anyway, at the restaurant her friends are monopolizing the conversation so I barely have a chance to get a word in, but the words I do get in leave an impression, and after the restaurant I got her number and called it a night.

Still with me? Thanks guys. So that was last Saturday, and I waited till the following Tuesday to call her. We played a little phone tag during the week but she called back and I talked to her on the phone yesterday for the first time. After a little small talk, I ask her out to dinner for tonight (Saturday night). So we have our first date tonight.