Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Solid advice for quitting cigarettes.

RyanSez

Don Juan
Reaction score
As the title says, I'm looking for solid advice on quitting cigarettes. I've been a smoker since I was 16 (47 now) and have tried everything under the sun to quit, to no avail. I'm a USMC vet, so my healthcare is through the VA. They were going to prescribe Chantix, but my primary care doctor canceled it.
Any advice is welcome.

xplt

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
The most important thing I found for me, is to disassociate smoking from the habits and occasions, that cause you to smoke or trigger your craving.

The cigarette to your coffee, the cigarette to your beer, the cigarette after a meal.
Start with drinking your coffee, your beer or finishing your meal without a cigarette.
Realize which habits and situations trigger your addiction.
The part of smoking and alcohol is the hardest.

Nicotine has left your body after max. a week, so everything that creates cravings after that time are mostly only habits, you associate with smoking. So you need to break those habits or recreate them.

Doing sports to get tired, drinking lots of water and fresh air. Do a hobby or something that occupies your mind.
Playing guitar was my activity to go, because my concentration was 100% at playing and I had no room left in my mind to think about anything else.

I would recommend not to try nicotine replacement products. Although gums, snus and band aids are better than smoke.

What's helpful too, is an app, that tracks your progress to motivate you. I used smokerstop.

BackInTheGame78

Reaction score
You throw them out and never pick them up again.
My Aunt did it after smoking 25 years.