Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Snapping My Sh** Up...

BPH

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Alright I'm going to post this here and on BB.com, but I might as well post it here first.

I've been doing Starting Strength these last few months. Don't think I'm new to it, because I did it last year for a summer to bulk up for football.

I do the routine 3 times a week and run 2 miles on the days where I don't work out.

I'm noticing a few small pains that are starting to affect my ability to lift; specifically the muscle on my kneecap is tender from when I run and squat, and it's starting to affect the weight of my squat.

The other injury I got while benching, my right shoulder has a twinge and now it hurts just to lift 135lbs.

My question is, should I avoid the gym/running, and if so, how long should I stay out of the gym to heal? I feel that at this point it's starting to affect all my lifts so I know I should rest, but I don't want to stay out of it so long that I get weak. And are there any good cardio alternatives to running that I can do regularly? I have a swimming pool in my back yard.

Looking forward to seeing what you guys have in mind.

U

user43770

I did starting strength for over a year when I first started getting back into lifting. I made some very good strength gains, but after a certain point it became too much. Like you, I also dealt with shoulder pain; my knees would ache for no reason; I began to have less energy in the gym. I was over training.

I finally switched to a routine with less volume. I still give it everything I have, but I only hit each lift every 8-12 days or so. My strongest deadlifts have been on 12 days rest.

I'm also a lot older than you. Not sure how much that might factor in.

Krueg