Post College Disillusionment - a rant

The Forms

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score
I graduated from college a few months back with a liberal arts degree. Turns out it's near impossible to get a job with it.

This makes me really disdain what we're told about education our whole lives. We're told that we should study and be smart. Sharpen the mind and the wit. All that jazz. Education will make you marketable after graduation because employers want educated employees.

Then when you try to use this pricey education to get a job, it turns out it was all a sham. It doesn't matter if you are smart. Having a degree, it seems, doesn't matter much at all. If you majored in something specific to an industry like engineering or finance then you're doing OK , but the rest of us don't really have options.

Everyone pays lip service to the value of education, but education doesn't seem like it's valued in the marketplace. I can understand where the employers are coming from on one hand, because, let's face it, chances are it won't help this corporation at all much that I can translate Caesar's "Commentary on the Gallic Wars" from Latin to English, or that I can tell someone all about how Plato accidentally created the modern novel.

However, with this being the case, why do employers care for anyone to have an education in the first place? If knowledge that isn't directly applicable to the industry is valueless, why does everyone pretend education is valueable in of itself? Why don't we all just go to industry specific trade schools after high school? Leave college education to the academics?

Does anyone here on the boards have a liberal arts degree who can maybe give a little advice?

backbreaker

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Sharpen the mind and the wit. All that jazz. Education will make you marketable after graduation because employers want educated employees.