Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Minority Students at Predominantly White Colleges

Status
Not open for further replies.

kayman79

Don Juan
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
I'm a black student at a small overwhelmingly white college in New Jersey. More specifically, rich white kids. I transfered there three years ago and I'm about to graduate in May. Looking back and reflecting on the past three years, I feel like I've been cheated out of the true college experience. The academics are fine but socially I feel that people of color, especially blacks are shut out from the social circles here. The few black students on campus have to stick together in order to have any chance at not being alone all the time. I have dealt with some obvious racism in my years here but most of it is subtle. The lack of eye contact, unfriendly body language and just overall unfriendliness of the other white students leads to frustration on the part black students. I have made only one white friend during the three years I've been here and one day he asked me an interesting question. We were in the dinning hall eating and he asked me, "why do all the black students sit at this table?" I thought for a second then I answered his question with a question of my own. I pointed to all of the many white tables and said "why do all the white kids sit at those tables?" He immediatly understood my point. It seems like any sort of contact between the two races has to be initiated by blacks or there is none at all. It's like saying "you join us, we're not joining you."