Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Leveraging stock options

Paradox

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I'm new at this so I need a lot of help here.

I have several options in a publicly traded company.

A friend of mine says that instead of cashing out my options I should leverage them against a purchase of more options.

He was also trying to explain to me the option of going short or long on the purchased options.

Can someone explain to me ho this works & what I can do with my options.

Bad_Lil'Pixie

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score
Do you feel the company is solid? I am guessing it is Cisco, Sytec or another type tech stock, they have all been pushing leverages recently. I have several options out there myself and many seem about as valuable as bird cage liner today with the recent market dip.

My understanding of LEVERAGING based on my current options:

Leveraging basically gives you the right to buy or sell WITHOUT obligation. I believe you can leverage no more then you already own. If you have 100 options and leverage them to BUY or SELL a 100 then you have basically just earned the right to do so.

If you leverage to BUY 100, (called 'CALL' optioning) then the company can forecast you doing so and base purposed budgets on your 'promise'.

If you leverage to SELL 100, (called 'PULL' optioning) then the company can plan ahead for the decrease.

This allows them a "crystal ball" for their future so to speak and YOU a reserved place to wiggle your options as needed.