How important is cardio to building muscle?

Reaction score
I've been hitting the gym for about 6 months and drinking protein shakes and trying to eat decent. I still drink alcohol a few times a week though and eat fast food.

I've been hitting the weight machines and doing squats. I'm building good muscle but I haven't done 1 minute of cardio. I hate tread mills. Is it possible to get cut without the cardio and just weights if I cut out the fast food and beer?

I usually go to the gym and use the weight machines non stop for 45 min to an hour about 3 times a week.

Warboss Alex

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
yes, you can get cut through diet manipulation alone but:
1 - it's harder
2 - it's less healthy
3 - you will probably lose strength and muscle while cutting

cardio will also make you grow faster if you're trying to gain.

there is absolutely no reason to not do some form of cardio regardless of your goals, and doing none is always detrimental, to your health if nothing else.

Reaction score
Warboss Alex said:
yes, you can get cut through diet manipulation alone but:
1 - it's harder
2 - it's less healthy
3 - you will probably lose strength and muscle while cutting

cardio will also make you grow faster if you're trying to gain.

there is absolutely no reason to not do some form of cardio regardless of your goals, and doing none is always detrimental, to your health if nothing else.

Thanks Warboss. I just can't get the motivation to hop on a treadmill. I love lifting weights it makes me feel great.

I'll have to force myself onto that treadmill. Is it important to do the cardio right before you lift weights? Maybe I can just ride a bike a few miles on the days I don't lift.

Warboss Alex

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Vlad the Impaler said:
I'll have to force myself onto that treadmill. Is it important to do the cardio right before you lift weights? Maybe I can just ride a bike a few miles on the days I don't lift.