Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

"Career change" advice

synergy1

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I am writing a post in order to enlist possible ways for a "career" change from someone who might have more knowledge than I do currently. I would prefer advice from people who are in the field, or an allied field...but anyone with knowledge from friends etc would be cool too.

I want to switch to big data/ data science. Here is my background as of today:

- I have a bachelors and masters ( with > 3.5 GPA) in engineering.
- I have experience C programming, and MATLAB programming
- Published a paper in ASME manufacturing science and engineering journal.

My current experience with data

- My masters thesis required a lot of data collection/ analysis. I used models and analytical data sets to determine the predictability of a variable in a process. The results showed a correlation and thus was published
- I did a ton of data analysis at my first and third jobs. Nothing to write home about.
- Learned C programming and could program in arrays, pointers, loops, etc. learned MATLAB programming mostly to solve stuff.

The current game plan

- Learning "R", a statistical software program ( open source).
- Learn JAVA programming language. I have simple classes created in the netbeans IDE
- Learn HADOOP.
- Upload code/ Projects to sites like github ( I will need to research it)
- Take requests from friends/family/ whoever for data analysis and reports for free. Build Coding portfolio.
- I have an idea for a simple phone app with online data I want to do. the data calculations are simple, but it would be a very quick/ dirty way to determine if a stock ticker is a good value/buffet stock. Not a be all end all, but a general starting point.