Bombing College

Eiljwa

Don Juan
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently in my second semester of college, with about 3 weeks left (4 including finals week)
. I have missed 2 tests in 2 classes due to illness. I have a class with a group project that I haven't been involved in at all, and need to be to pass. I also haven't turned in a paper that was due a few weeks ago. I'm thinking I'm just screwed and won't pass anything, which would suck. The doctor wasn't able to find anything wrong with me, so I didn't get an excuse there. Any advice on talking to professors and straightening my grades out would be great.

foomee

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score
depends on your college, i suppose...but just talk to them one on one. explain what happened and show them you really care and want to pass the class. if you have to, meet with them every week to discuss the homework or topic or what not, basically anything to score brownie points. like for instance, i have a D in a class right now and i've been meeting with the teacher every week and i even went to the symphony with her tonight. try anything. it's good if you're in a small school, but do whatever you can to get them to remember you and know who you are.

piranha45

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
i think your only shot at getting any sympathy from the professors at this point is to ACE EVERYTHING FROM HERE ON. If you demonstrate to them that you know the material and are serious about their class(es), they may be willing to give you some leeway. If you approach them without any tangible display of dedication, they're probably going to blow you off.

There's no easy quick-fix answer; you dug yourself a hell of a hole and its going to take a serious academic effort to try and redeem yourself. Try to fix what you can, see if the professor will take the paper late and call a groupmember and ask him/her about what you can do... My groups always gave "the guy who never did anything" credit anyway, so maybe you can luck out there.