Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Any drummers here? I'm 31 years old....

Fatal Jay

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
with no drumming skills, and I want to learn how to play.

How long does it take to get pretty good at it?

wifehunter

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I'm ok at drums, not amazing. I tend to just get the job done. However....programming drums, I get loads of compliments.

resilient

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
A while. I used to be a drummer in a punk band way back in the day. Also played percussion all throughout grade school. Drummer sets the pace of the rock/jazz, etc. band. The bassist watches the drummer often too to make sure they both are in sync as well.

The biggest pet peeve I heard from my band mates was when I was off (early/late) on a fill.

Get good at reading music. Quarter notes, eighth notes, sixteenth notes, etc. Listen to the different style of drummers: rock, jazz, etc.

Start with a simple drum snare. You can get a simple practice pad before you expand into a full set.

You can research articles on the web and watch guys give free lessons on YouTube. If you want one-on-one instruction, there are most likely percussion teachers in your area.

Just like the guitar, to get good.... PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-play-drums/

I like this ex-drummer from Polyphia. He's gone solo:

Last edited:

zekko

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
How long does it take to get pretty good at it?
I would say at least six months to a year, depending on how driven you are, and whether or not you have a knack for it. At least. Some people just can't keep a beat.

Tip: Learn to count.

wifehunter

Master Don Juan
Reaction score