Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Your house liability or asset?

eli77

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I'm thinking liability although our house in south Florida has been paid off for over a decade.

Reincarnated

Don Juan
Reaction score
As an accountant I can only see it through the lens of the balance sheet. The house is an asset, and the mortgage outstanding against it is a liability. But I understand where you're coming from that it may be a "liability".

AureliusMaximus

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I'm thinking liability although our house in south Florida has been paid off for over a decade.
Privately owned property can never be an asset and let me explain why:
Its is a liability because it takes out money of you pocket each month e.g. taxes, electricity, insurance etc. Yes you might get lucky and sell the house with a profit, but it might also bright you down the drain if you have to sell it with a loss. So you cannot list "potential profits" that as an asset either. Banks will also list you as a risk and potential liability as they consider lending money to the public as more risk than businesses.

However; if you were a property investor and owned houses through a company you had formed and rented these houses out it would be a n asset as it then makes you money that you can cash in your pocket.. The tenants pay your bills and as a company you get loads of tax advantages and you can also get access to very cheap loads though the banks as they see you as a business too.

I hope that makes sense to you @eli77 ?

Reincarnated

Don Juan
Reaction score
Privately owned property can never be an asset and let me explain why: