Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

strength vs size

another_nice_guy

Don Juan
Reaction score
i have been doing stronglifts 5x5 for a few months now. Have noticed big reduction of gut but not that much increase in overall mass.

Do many Don Juans subscribe to the "training for strength, not size" thing.

Im beginning to have my doubts as at the end of the day I want to look good. I dont play sports so dont need functional strength.

Jitterbug

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
When will people use their farking brains and understand that muscles don't come from the air you breathe at the gym?

runner83

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Simply put, there's 3 key things you have to do:

1) In the gym: make your focus to continually either increase the weight you're lifting and/or increase the number of reps you can lift. I generally aim for a 5 -7 rep range for most exercises.

2) Out of the gym: rest and don't over train.

3) Nutrition is at least 50% of the entire process if you want to gain lean muscle mass. You must eat quality food and increase your calorie intake. Never go more than 2 - 3 hours without eating...that's muscle building suicide.

As a guide, when I first started lifting seriously, I gained about 10kg (22 pounds) in 10 weeks, since I made a big effort to increase my food intake (and I was also doing 6 days of cardio per week, 40 - 60 minutes per session!)..

I also significantly increased my weight limits, but my overall body dimensions while they did increase were not really significant to begin with (at least, not with my shirt on).

Just keep at it, realise that muscle needs to built from something (not just air in the gym...) and good luck!

mikeyb

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score