Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Should I move to USA?

Huffman

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I'm a software engineer at a tech startup, and we've been bought by a pretty big corporation. Now I actually have the option to move office to either Waltham/Boston or San Diego. Career wise, I might be able to become Technical Director in a team that will massively expand in the next couple of years.

Should I? I'd get a US contract, my salary will be higher (probably not 6 figures immediately, but very soon), but I've visited our US offices and everybody is working 10 hours, 12 hours, hell. Plus like 2 hours of commuting. Not alot of paid vacation either, so my "hourly rate" actually wouldn't increase that much. In a couple of years, though, I could have a management position. But that means even more work, right? Right now I work 8 hours a day and that's it. 30 days of paid vacation. Plus, I have zero debt, and I can live very comfortably on my German salary.

I really love my free time. I can go to work, then go practice the drums, then go to the gym and then go on a date on the same day. Working my ass off will just destroy my lifestyle... but still. I guess it would really advance my career, right? I love how professional and motivated ppl at our US offices are. Plus they really seem to do everything to keep you happy (whereas in Germany you don't even get free lunches).

Do you think it would be smart to move to US, probably San Diego office, for a couple of years? I lean towards no, but still guys. I have the gut feeling that I'm missing a huge opportunity here...

What's a software engineer's day like in the US. Are you guys really slaves to your debt, family and child support? Looking for some honest answers and experiences here.