NPD ex

Tom Shivoe

Don Juan
Reaction score
I've posted before that I have an NPD ex. I had a personal message exchange with someone about it. I hope that person won't mind if I post something about my experience for the broader group, based on my message to them.

I must stress upfront that I am not a professional and I can't advise anyone what to do or if their partner is NPD/BPD.

I spent years (literally) being in turns angry, confused and afraid about my ex-wife's behaviour. I kept reading stuff about extreme behaviour in relationships, and eventually I came across descriptions of NPD. Suddenly things clicked.

There is a classic list of symptoms of NPD like this one: https://www.psychologytoday.com/conditions/narcissistic-personality-disorder

All I can say is take a good look and do your research.

I have found dealing with an NPD partner is the toughest thing I have ever had to deal with in life. Sad to say, I have never really found effective support. Friends and family just don't get what it is like to deal with a NPD. Even therapists haven't been that helpful. As a man, I really think gender comes into it - there is an extra level of resistance to the idea of a female NPD.

One practical thing might be: keep a journal. An NPD will try and get into your head and distort your reality. A journal can help fight that.

I really wish I had kept more evidence of my narc ex's dangerous and destructive behaviour. I mean sound recordings and photos of what she did. I have a few but not enough probably to get custody of my kids.