hardening up before getting serious

cockydude

Don Juan
Reaction score
Hey guys, basically i am looking for a workout that will prep my body and nervous system to get into heavier weights and bulking over the course of a couple months or so. A little about me first though:

I am 6'2" about 160 lbs, 31 years old, and for a long time (about 10 yrs) i have had IBS that has consistently cramped (literally) my lifestyle and made eating enough difficult (due to lack of appetite), so i am finally throwing down the gauntlet and deciding to make a lifestyle change. I havent worked out in any serious way for a good 8-9 years, so i would at this point be pretty much a total newbie. So to start, i am going to be making some diet changes, eating better, and hitting the weights 3 times a week. Any suggestions for where to start? Remember, what i am looking for is a good total-body workout that will up my general fitness level and help get my biological systems (ie. digestive and nervous) healthy again and get into a state where the bigger meals and harder workouts will be possible. I wanna make what i have hard and fit before taking that next step. Advice please :)

cd

Skilla_Staz

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I never really understood the need to "get your body ready" to lift weights. Isn't the whole point of lifting to FORCE your body to adapt?

donjuanjovi

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score
wannabebigforums.com has some good stuff on it. It's more geared towards body building/weight lifting than this site, and there are a lot of guys/girls there that know their stuff.

Bodybuilding.com also has some good articles about getting into weight lifting, so some research might be in order.

eminence

Senior Don Juan
Reaction score