Do women REALLY like musicians...

Reaction score
...or is there more to it than that?

I'm 20 years old and I play bass. I'm damn good at it too, if I do say so myself. Yet I have no idea how to parlay this into an advantage in dating.

Whenever my band plays bar gigs, the audience is 95% male.

If I'm chatting up a girl someplace, and I happen to mention that I'm in a band, she usually thinks I'm making stuff up just to impress her - that is the impression I get. Maybe I just don't "look" like a musician type - although, I have been told I look like Chino Moreno from The Deftones...

Nobody else in the band has trouble getting laid. And we are not an exceptionally good-looking bunch of guys!

I am deadly serious about bass. Meeting women was not the primary reason why I started playing it. Is this maybe the wrong attitude?

Acidic Camel

Don Juan
Reaction score
Man, if you're a bass player you're screwed. Nobody likes bass players :p

Seriously, I am a bass player myself and I understand what you mean. The truth is that girls don't just dig the fact that you play an instrument- you have to have the attitude to go with it. A friend of mine, who has recently got a job playing with a band on cruise ships (so you may come across him sometime ;)) is probably the most natural DJ I've ever known and it's simply because he was oozing confidence. He rocked out whenever he could, he'd jump into the crowd to solo, he'd act a bit ****y with the audience- and girls would love this! He wasn't particularly good-looking, but he had so much confidence and charm that he got past that.

If playing an instrument well was all I needed to get laid I definitely would not be here now. It's your attitude that matters, otherwise you're just some other guy plucking away on stage.

Levex

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
show some of that badass attitude. hit a girl accross the back with your bass, she'll put out in a second.

:D

Safari

Don Juan
Reaction score