Are my weight lifts good or bad?

YT827

Don Juan
Reaction score
I'm 5'9'' 155lbs...goal is 170-175lbs.

Basically, I watch youtube videos of proper lifting techniques and go to the gym and lift. I'm not an expert nor do I have a personal trainer.

The exercises I do are...

Dumbbell Curls - 40lbs
Bench Press - 145lbs
Squats - 185lbs
Dead Lift - 185lbs
Shoulder Shrugs - 70lbs

Reps 5x5

Is this good for someone my body weight? I'm also doing the GOMAD diet. Any tips to put on more weight? How often should I increase the weight?

CarlitosWay

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
YT827 said:
I'm 5'9'' 155lbs...goal is 170-175lbs.

Basically, I watch youtube videos of proper lifting techniques and go to the gym and lift. I'm not an expert nor do I have a personal trainer.

The exercises I do are...

Dumbbell Curls - 40lbs
Bench Press - 145lbs

start using a low incline barbell add 100 lbs to it for reps in the next 2 years or something and do incline/flat dumbbell work

Squats - 185lbs

Do front squats, leg press, hack squats

Dead Lift - 185lbs

do rack deadlifts to and why aren't you not doing any barbell/db rows?[/B]

Shoulder Shrugs - 70lbs

Reps 5x5

Meh if you're going for size pick a higher rep range...say 6-15 rep range..

Is this good for someone my body weight? I'm also doing the GOMAD diet. Any tips to put on more weight? How often should I increase the weight?

I think designing your own routine is a lot better if you can get in the gym 4-6 times a week and eat big every day to support it DO IT..especially if you're young. 16-30 years old is the best time to just take advantage and pack on a **** load of mass, hit the gym frequently....

here learn all about routines here and how to design one for your goals in mind ....throw up some exercises and ill help you tweak the selection /rep ranges what not.

http://www.tmuscle.com/readArticle.do?id=1701042

http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_.../how_to_design_a_damn_good_program_part_2&cr=

Evzone

Senior Don Juan