SoSuave.com

Articles

Quick Tips

Learn How to Turn Your Phone Into a Chick Magnet


Go Back   Don Juan Discussion Forum > Anything Else
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2010, 11:30 AM   #1
Maeisgood
Senior Don Juan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 439
Maeisgood is an unknown quantity at this point
Do American cell phones work in Canada?

I have an iPhone, I live in America, and I'm going to Toranto soon, will my cell phone work up there?
Maeisgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-09-2010, 04:26 PM   #2
Inquisitus
Don Juan
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 136
Inquisitus will become famous soon enough
Didn't you know? Phones don't work in the cold. You have to use a can & string!

Seriously though, yeah, it'll work. It'll probably be expensive as you'll be roaming.
Inquisitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
Axcell
Master Don Juan
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 521
Axcell is on a distinguished road
It will work ONLY if your phone is unlocked.
Also, you'd have to be on a specific network for it to work as different networks operate on different frequencies. Who is your current provider?
Axcell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:03 PM   #4
BigJimbo
Master Don Juan
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 998
BigJimbo is a jewel in the roughBigJimbo is a jewel in the roughBigJimbo is a jewel in the roughBigJimbo is a jewel in the rough
Roaming will kill you. Another way America screws you over. In 80% of this earth people buy unlocked phones. Easy as switching your SIM card. In America the idiots who sell mobile/cell phones don't even realize that their phones are locked. Best bet is to buy an unlocked phone. Then you simply buy a Sim card when you arrive. Problem is finding an unlocked phone in America! Easier buying porn or drugs in America than buying an unlocked phone. The big phone stores you see would NEVER sell unlocked phones. I will say that Canadian stores push locked phones but almost all of them will sell you the same phone that is unlocked. Same goes for most of Eastern Europe.
BigJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:52 PM   #5
Inquisitus
Don Juan
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 136
Inquisitus will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axcell
It will work ONLY if your phone is unlocked.
Also, you'd have to be on a specific network for it to work as different networks operate on different frequencies. Who is your current provider?

You mean if you're planning to use a Canadian SIM right?

Canadian carriers use the same frequencies as US carriers with respect to the iPhone 3G and above. If you're using the original iPhone, then you're limited to Fido, Rogers, and Seven Eleven (who i think roams on Rogers).

@ Maeisgood,
If you want to use Canadian SIM cards and pay Canadian prices, you have to unlock your phone.

If you're using it with your current US provider, be prepared to pay handsomely for roaming, especially data.
Inquisitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:11 PM   #6
Maxtro
Master Don Juan
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kalifornicatia
Age: 33
Posts: 3,251
Maxtro has disabled reputation
It seems you might want to look into jailbreaking your phone.
Maxtro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 08:04 AM   #7
Maeisgood
Senior Don Juan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 439
Maeisgood is an unknown quantity at this point
It is an iPhone that uses AT&T.
Maeisgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 01:01 PM   #8
COD
Master Don Juan
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,202
COD is a jewel in the roughCOD is a jewel in the roughCOD is a jewel in the rough
att automatically switches to rogers when U are in Toronto......appropriate charges will apply. Ask your phone company provider for a 30 day out of country plan..........it will save you money if U plan on using your phone while in Canada
__________________
Davagina Code 2011 just under 500 pages of timeless powerful tips
http://stores.lulu.com/1234a

DECEPTION DETECTION 2011-liars, cheaters & cons, SECRETS,

SPEED DATING CHEAT CODES
COD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 02:21 PM   #9
BigJimbo
Master Don Juan
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 998
BigJimbo is a jewel in the roughBigJimbo is a jewel in the roughBigJimbo is a jewel in the roughBigJimbo is a jewel in the rough
I am taking it that none of the teenagers on here travel outside of America. If you did you would know that everyone goes with an unlocked phone.
BigJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 04:47 PM   #10
Maeisgood
Senior Don Juan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 439
Maeisgood is an unknown quantity at this point
When at&t switches to Rogers, does it happen automatically and perfectly every time, or is it spotty and hard to catch? Does it fade in and out?
Maeisgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 12:31 AM   #11
Inquisitus
Don Juan
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 35
Posts: 136
Inquisitus will become famous soon enough
Automatic and seamless though you'll probably get a text telling you you're on a Canadian network. Just note, Toronto is like any large city. You may have issues connecting during the busy periods but you will have signal.
Inquisitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

The DJ Bible

What's New

Articles

Quick Tips

Hall of Fame

Romance Tips

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.