Lack motivation

RedSky

Don Juan
Reaction score
I've been weight-training for the last 8 months but recently i'm not as motivated to train as i use to be.

I'm always searching for reasons to not go to the gym and when at gym, i just loss the will to train.

So how do you guys keep useful motivated to weight-train?

navyseal2101

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
I look at a pic of what I want to be like, also music helps. Just force yourself to start lifting w/e day and youll naturally want to continue b/c of the anti-depressants it releases.

Quiksilver

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Lifting for the last 8 months?

How about....hmmm......take a couple weeks off?

Or, if you're not into doing the intelligent thing, you could take a stint into some sort of athletic endeavor. How about boxing? MMA? Try doing an Ironman comp.

Heck, try a different workout even. Do something you haven't done before, that will stimulate your brain and alleviate the depression.

Omen

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
For me there is no think about it attitude. I actually look FORWARD to going, and usually cant wait.

What I have found for most people that have the attitude you do is that they have something that is setting them back. Things you hear normally are...

1. My GF just broke up with me. (not motivated)
2. Its too hard (therefore i'm not motivated)
3. Its not fun and I dont enjoy it (not motivated)
4. I've been at it X months and I dont see too much (not motivated)

All those reasons make people go.... Ah forget it. I'm sure there are more, but you need to find something to motivate you.

I would always tell people to NOT make women your sole reason for lifting, but if you can use it to your advantage, then so be it. Picture this woman you want to be with and go.. you know I can get that if I looked good. So dangit i'm going to hit the gym.

Get a magazine and post a pic of a dude in your room (sounds gay I know) and go... I'm gonna look like that, and then hit the gym.