Hello Friend,

If this is your first visit to SoSuave, I would advise you to START HERE.

It will be the most efficient use of your time.

And you will learn everything you need to know to become a huge success with women.

Thank you for visiting and have a great day!

Starting up a gym

BeTheChange

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
Here's my thinking

I'm still quite young

No kids, no dependents.

I love health and fitness

I have spare cash lying around

I have a predictable flow of income that more than covers my living expenses and any emergency costs that might arise.

I'm hungry

I'm a qualified accountant so have a business head.

I have a pretty good network

I feel all this is a pretty good combination for starting a business and I and a freind or two think this would be a great idea. Has anyone tried something like this, either successfully or not?

guru1000

Master Don Juan
Reaction score
BeChange, you’re an accountant. You are aware you provided no info to properly guide you?
  • Square footage?
  • Projected annual membership fees (as comp’ed to other gyms in the area)?
  • Projected intake of new clients first year, second year, etc.?
  • How much upfront capital for buildout, equipment, utility and rent deposits? Working capital/reserves?

Quick Projection:

Monthly Overhead
  • Location: 5000 sq. ft @ $35 a square foot (In NY, this would be a rural area, not city). Annual rent $175,000; Average $15,000 monthly.
  • Employees: Minimum two at $2,000 monthly each including employer taxes. Total $4,000 monthly.
  • Utilities monthly in 5000 sq. ft: Electricity $600, Gas $300 (averaged); Water $500 (landlord will pass this expense to you as a gym eats much water by showers). Total average $1,400 monthly.
  • Marketing (TBD)
  • Cleaning: Have your employees clean. Merchandise, foods, shakes not included. Minimal expenses for corp., accounting, licensing.
Total approx. monthly expense: $20,000.

Start-Up Cost